What's in a Writer's Name?

What's in a Writer's Name?
Kate Thompson is a writer's name. My daughter-in-law sent me a photo she took in a Scotland train station that was selling books by a Kate Thompson. My grandson checked out a book from his school library by Kate Thompson. Neither was me. You see, I'm not alone. There are several.
British-Irish writer, Kate Thompson, writes children's books and clarifies on her Wiki that she is "not to be confused with Kate Thompson, the romantic novelist". There's a journalist/author Kate Thompson and a Kate Thompson who writes books about therapeutic journaling. The romantic author, Kate Thompson, mentioned above, is a former actress, lives in Ireland, and besides romantic, writes historical novels under the name of Kate Beaufoy. Well, there's no confusing her now.
I'm Kate E Thompson, the E standing for Elizabeth, which, along with my first novel, Bigfoot Hunters Never Lie and my novella, The Asteroid's Daughter and the Serpent Handler's Son, discerns me from the other Kate Thompsons.